You’re in control. You get to decide.

It might be a good time to reflect on the message in Jim Collin’s book, How The Mighty Fall: And Why Some Companies Never Give In.

In his book, Collins sets out the 5 stages of decline. Even without a lot of explanation, you can ferret out what can happen at each of these stages:

Stage 1: Hubris Born of Success
Stage 2: Undisciplined Pursuit of More
Stage 3: Denial of Risk and Peril
Stage 4: Grasping for Salvation
Stage 5: Capitulation to Irrelevance or Death

As today’s quote suggests, decline is largely self-inflicted. We are not imprisoned by our circumstances, our past actions, or even our staggering failures along the way.

As long as we stay on the field and don’t surrender, we can still prevail.

You can purchase How The Mighty Fall: And Why Some Companies Never Give In by clicking my Amazon affiliate link. There is absolutely no cost to you, but your purchase will support our shared passion for books of all kinds.

Lary Kirchenbauer

I am committed to helping you Become a More Effective Leader. With over 40 years in the trenches serving in senior leadership roles, I can help you sharpen your skills and focus on the qualities that will make you a More Effective Leader and help you build a more successfu career. My full bio is here.

Leave a Reply